Image: Ram Kangaroo (IWM)
YearAugust 1944
Vehicle TypeArmoured Personnel Carrier
Origin & DesignerCanada/MLW & CTA
Numbers Produced500
Crew2 (Driver & Co Driver) + 8 x Troops
Main Armament1 x .30 Browning M.1919 Machine Gun (Bow)
Main Armament[@sponson_traverse]
Turret Traverse[@turret_traverse]
Gun Traverse[@gun_traverse]
Gun Mount[@gun_mounts]
Maximum Range[@maximum_range]
Armour Penetration[@armour_penetration]
Gun Sight[@gun_sight]
Secondary Armament[@secondary_armament]
Smoke Discharger[@smoke_discharger]
Ammunition Carried[@ammunition_carried]
Combat Weight22.970 kg
Ground Clearance0.43m
Fording Depth0.91m
Trench Crossing2.26m
Obstacle Clearance0.61m
Climbing Ability30°
RadioNo 19 Set
ArmourHull Front: 75mm.
Hull Sides: 65mm.
Hull Rear: 38mm.
Hull Top: 15mm.
Hull Bottom: 12mm.
EngineContinental R974 C2 (Petrol)
Transmission5 Forward & 1 Reverse
Maximum Road Range232 km
Maximum Cross Country Range[@maximum_cross_country_range]
Maximum Water Range[@maximum_water_range]
Maximum Road Speed40 kph
Maximum Cross Country Speed32 kph
Maximum Water Speed[@maximum_water_speed]
NotesThe priest kangaroo was an interim vehicle using only load M7s. The decision was made to design a vehicle with better all-round protection for their infantry cargo. The Ran tank was chosen to become the next fully tracked personnel carrier. The Ram was never really used as a battle tank, so the Ram II was chosen for this conversion. The Ram kangaroo first saw action in Holland in October 1944. Issued to Canadian and British infantry units the Ram kangaroo served to the end of the war.