BA-64 & 64B

BA-64 & 64B
Image: BA-64Bs (Red Army Photo)
YearMarch 1942 (BA-64)
1943 (BA-64B)
Vehicle TypeLight 4x4 Armoured Car
Origin & Designer[@designer]
Numbers Produced3.900 (BA-64)
5.200 (BA-64B)
Crew2 (Commander/Gunner & Driver)
Main Armament1 x 7.62mm DT Machine Gun
Main Armament[@sponson_traverse]
Elevation-36° to +54°
Turret Traverse360° (Manual)
Gun Traverse[@gun_traverse]
Gun Mount[@gun_mounts]
Maximum Range[@maximum_range]
Armour Penetration[@armour_penetration]
Gun Sight[@gun_sight]
Secondary Armament[@secondary_armament]
Smoke Discharger[@smoke_discharger]
Ammunition Carried1.260 x 7.62mm
Combat Weight2.450 kg (BA-64)
2.359 (BA-64B)
Ground Clearance021m
Fording Depth0.51m
Trench Crossing0.45m
Obstacle Clearance[@obstacle_clearance]
Climbing Ability30°
Radio12RP (BA-64B)
ArmourHull Front: 12mm (15mm BA-64B)
Hull Sides: 9mm
Hull Rear: 9mm
Hull Top: 6mm
Hull Bottom: 4mm
Turret Front: 10mm
Turret Side: 10mm
Turret Rear: 10mm
Turret Top: Open
EngineGAZ-MM (Petrol)
Transmission3 Forward & 1 Reverse
Maximum Road Range560 km
Maximum Cross Country Range300 km
Maximum Water Range[@maximum_water_range]
Maximum Road Speed85 kph
Maximum Cross Country Speed22 kph
Maximum Water Speed[@maximum_water_speed]
NotesThe BA-64 was light scout car which was designed for scout and liaison work. It was built on the chassis of the light 4x4 GAZ-64 and incorporated an open topped compartment which mounted a single machine gun for local defense. In 1943 an improved version was produced and this was built on the chassis of the GAZ-67. This variant was called the BA-64B and had a larger wheel base and revolving turret and both variants saw extensive use during world war two.